AAUW Morgan Hill Honors Joy Safakish

Congratulations to Joy Safakish for being our AAUW Morgan Hill Branch’s 2021 honoree for the Morgan Hill Community Foundation Philanthropy Award!   This award is given to members of local organizations who give of their time and talents to benefit our local community and community non-profits.

Joy’s Contributions to the Branch

Joy has been a member of our branch since 2011.  One of her many passions has been Tech Trek – she has coordinated our Tech Trek girls from 2015 to present, and thanks to her efforts dozens of 7th grade girls from Morgan Hill have benefited from the Tech Trek STEM camp at Stanford. Joy has been organized, persistent, and relentless in following through on all phases of the process including enlisting our MH members to make the camp happen every year, whether in person or online.  Our many, many “Tech Trekers” that have gone through the camp and onto higher education in STEM demonstrate the effects of her commitment to AAUW’s mission to encourage STEM education for girls.

In addition to Tech Trek, Joy has organized a “Hikes with Dogs” group for our branch, found time to act as an advisor for our Young Women Leaders group, and most recently she has started a new Climate Change Interest Group. Her latest role is that of Wildflower Run Co-Director with Janet Wright for our 2022 Run, to be held March 27.

Five Additional AAUW MH Members Honored for Their Community Philanthropy

This year, in addition to Joy, five other members of our branch are being honored by other local organizations. Congratulations to all!

Peter Anderson

Rotary Club of Morgan Hill

Mary Cox

Morgan Hill Historical Society

Malisha Kumar

Edward Boss Prado Foundation

Cinda Meister

Leadership Morgan Hill

Cecelia Ponzini

Youth Alliance

2021 Philanthropy Day Event

This year’s ceremony will be both an in-person gala, and a simultaneous live online streaming of the evening for those unable to attend.  The evening dinner gala will be held at the Morgan Hill Community and Cultural Center on Friday, November 12.   Please join us in celebrating with  Joy Safakish as our 2021 honoree and all the other honorees, in-person or virtually!  Additional details will be posted in our email blast.

Return to Nov/Dec 2021 Newsletter