2022-2023 Operating Committees

The Bylaws Committee writes and reviews policies, procedures, position descriptions and branch bylaws prior to board approval.

Bylaws Chair: Carol O’Hare
Joan Ensign
Suman Ganapathy
Barbara Palmer
Elsa Walton
Sherrie Wren

Communications Appointed Positions
Calendar Susan Persing
Email Managers Monica McClintock/Darcy Foster
Google Drive Bobbie Erb/Elizabeth Mandel
Newsletter Editor Krisse Boursier/Cindy Adams
Newsletter Advertising Peggy Martin
Publicity TBD
Social Media Suman Ganapathy/Elizabeth Mandel/ Ananya Vittal
Technology Training Jan Conrey
Website Manager Sandy Stoob

The Community Action Grants Committee solicits and reviews applications from local non-profit organizations. It selects recipients that meet AAUW mission-based criteria.

Community Action Grants Chair: Harpreet Vittal
Nancy Altman
Monica McClintock
Susan Rife

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI): Diversity refers to all aspects of human difference; Equity refers to fair and just practices and policies that ensure all community members can thrive; Inclusion refers to a community in which all members are and feel respected, have a sense of belonging, and can achieve their potential.

Diversity Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Chair: Janet McElroy
Kat Chavez Napoli
Sousan Manteghi-Safakish

The Finance and Budget Committee reviews and sets the annual operating budget for the branch for board approval.

Finance/Budget Committee Chair: CFO
 President Elect
 Program VPs
 Membership VPs

Interest Group Coordinator Jan Conrey
Group Chair
Afternoon Books Suman Ganapathy
Arts Outings Janet McElroy
Climate Education & Action (CEAC) Margaret McCann
Evening Books Elizabeth Mandel
Friday Writers Marcia Fishman
Hole in the Heart Carol O’Hare
Mamas in the Kitchen Jeanne Gregg
Pilgrims Process Jane Devine
Smart eGals (Apple) Joan Ensign
Smart eGals (Android) TBD
Ukuladies Joanne Rife
Wine & Whine Krisse Boursier

The Leadership Development Committee promotes branch leadership. It assists with filling vacant board positions, heads the nominating committee in filling executive board positions, and reviews applicants for scholarships to Leadership Morgan Hill.

Leadership Development Chair: Marian Sacco
Kathy Hansell
Patricia Kindred
Joan Ensign
Monica McClintock
Pat Toombs
Peggy Martin

NCCWSL Scholarship Chair: TBD

The Local Scholarship Committees interface with local high schools and colleges regarding scholarships. They interview and select recipients. The coordinator verifies enrollment and requests the checks. Each scholarship has a separate committee.

Local Scholarships Coordinator: Stacy Moeder

High School Grad Scholarships Chair: Tammy Parker / Joan Sullivan

Keeping In Touch Grants Chair: Alexandra Mandel

Lauren Jenkins Healthcare Profession Scholarship/Fritts Family STEM Scholarship Chair: Mary Cox

Re-Entry / Deferred Entry Scholarships Chair: Vicky Reader

The Membership Committee welcomes, orients, and determines the interests of new members. They assist in recommending and assigning members to branch volunteer needs. The committee also plans the Fall Membership brunch.

Membership Chairs: Barbara Palmer / Sherrie Wren
New Member Mentor Barbara Palmer
Communications Monica McClintock
Wine & Whine Krisse Boursier
Programs Nancy Altman

The Program Planning Committee holds an annual meeting in August to plan the branch educational programs.

Program Planning Chair: Nancy Altman
Public Policy

The Tech Trek Committee interviews and selects a group of 7th grade girls to attend a one-week science camp in person at a California university or virtually during the summer months. They also help with events that increase awareness of Tech Trek.

Tech Trek Coordinator: Krisse Boursier

The Wildflower Fund Committees manage the Morgan Hill branch’s annual fundraising and subsequent allocation of funds to our various philanthropic causes. Committees include:

Wildflower Run Run Directors: Janet Wright / Joy Safakish
Wildflower Run Corporate Sponsors Chair: Amy Whelan
Wildflower Fund Annual Giving Campaign Coordinator: Carol O’Hare
Wildflower Fund Allocations Chair: Elizabeth Mandel