Local Scholarships

Home|Local Scholarships
Local Scholarships 2018-01-16T19:05:05+00:00

Local Scholarships and Grants

We award annual scholarships to local graduating high school seniors, students returning to college after an absence from education, college students in the nursing and health care fields, college students for participation in a leadership conference, and previous scholarship winners.

2017 scholarship and grant recipients volunteering at the Wildflower Run

College Scholarships for High School Seniors

Each spring, AAUW Morgan Hill awards several $1000 scholarships to young women entering college and graduating from Live Oak, Ann Sobrato and Central high schools. Students completing the “Common Scholarship Application,” available at their high school and due for submission to the high school counseling office in early December, are considered for these scholarships. Finalists are interviewed by an AAUW member panel.

For an application and further instructions:

Live Oak High School – Go to Common Scholarship Application
Ann Sobrato High School – Inquire at the Counseling Office
Central High School – Inquire at the Counseling Office

2017 High School Seniors Receiving College Scholarships

Jordan Atkins Ann Sobrato High School Agricultural Business
Lindsay Baker Live Oak High school Nursing
Raya Kavosh Ann Sobrato High School Political Science
Kaylee Messina Live Oak High School Nursing
Eunice Moreno Central High School
Criminal Justice
Xochitl Santiago Ann Sobrato High School Biology
Rachel Sjostedt Live Oak High School Aerospace Engineering

College Scholarships for Re-Entry Women

AAUW Morgan Hill annually awards several scholarships to women re-entering school after a break in their education.These “Re-Entry” scholarships are awarded to women attending college who best meet the following criteria:

  • Re-entering college after a break
  • Have a connection to Morgan Hill, either having attended a Morgan Hill school or as a past or present resident of Morgan Hilll
  • Plan to continue their education at a four year institution
  • Have genuine financial need

Students may apply for consideration for a Re-Entry Scholarship through their Community College Financial Aid Office or,  preferably,  complete our College Scholarships for Re-Entry Women Application. Applications are due March 1. The AAUW Morgan Hill Scholarship Committee will review the applications and make the final selections.

2017 Student Receiving a Re-Entry College Scholarships

Mia Lugo Gavilan Community College

Lauren Jenkins Healthcare Profession Scholarship

Lauren Jenkins was a geneticist and branch member who was actively involved in Tech Trek and who founded GEMS (Girls Engaged in Math and Science). Her passion for education and girls’ engagement in STEM fields lives on through this scholarship.
In 2016, we awarded our first $2000 to a Gavilan College RN student.

Please complete our Lauren Jenkins Healthcare Scholarship Application. Applications are due March 1. The AAUW Morgan Hill Scholarship Committee will review the applications and make the final selection.

In 2017 we awarded two Healthcare Profession scholarships.

Michelle Nguyen University of Alabama Pre-med
Tiffany Ziegelman Gavilan College Dental Hygienist

Enrollment Verification

All scholarship money for the above scholarships is paid, after enrollment is verified, directly to the college that the student is attending. See Student Enrollment Verification Form.

Keeping In Touch (KIT) Grants

Previous scholarship winners who are currently undergraduates have the opportunity each year to apply for supplemental grants.

Please complete our KIT Grant Application. Applications are due January 30. The AAUW Morgan Hill Scholarship Committee will review the applications and make the final selection.

2017 KIT grant recipients:

Jacquelyn Cook Gavilan Community College Registered Nursing
Julia Leal Stanford University Earth Systems
Shelby McDonald California Baptist University Sociology
Shannon Mortela CSU Monterey Bay Social Work
Naromy Ramirez San Jose State University
Child & Adolescent Development
Lydia Riojas San Jose State University Business Administration
Heather Sjostedt Savannah College of Art & Design Visual Effects & Animation
Whitney Waller CSU Sacramento
Diana Valderrama San Jose State University Sociology
Melissa Vasquez UC Santa Barbara Physical Therapy

National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) Scholarship

The Morgan Hill branch of AAUW typically awards a scholarship to this national conference, held annually near the end of the school year. The scholarship includes conference registration and travel expenses. If we are not able to identify a local candidate meeting our criteria, we will pass the funds on to AAUW’s national organization who will provide the scholarship to a worthy candidate.

Please complete our NCCWSL Application. Applications are due February 9, 2018. The AAUW Morgan Hill Scholarship Committee will review the applications and make the final selection.

2017 NCCWSL scholarship recipient:

Michaela Austin
UC Santa Barbara