Scholarship News

Scholarship Recognition Event acknowledges this year’s Tech Trek campers and scholarship recipients

The Scholarship Recognition Event, August 22 at the Morgan Hill Library, highlighted AAUW’s many scholarship opportunities. 

After President Suman Ganapathy and Programs VP Nancy Altman welcomed everyone, Krisse Boursier, Tech Trek coordinator (and president elect) described the Tech Trek program and introduced the five 8th grade campers who were in attendance. Each girl spoke about her camp experience and shared a poster that she had made. We also heard from the student who attended the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL). 

 Stacy Moeder, Scholarship coordinator, introduced the chairs who talked about the various scholarship programs. Many of this year’s recipients were unable to attend the event, but three winners of high school scholarships shared their educational plans. A deferred-entry scholarship winner also spoke.

The event helped everyone gain a greater appreciation of the important work that we do as a branch. In 2022-2023, we distributed over $40,000 for these awards, all from the Wildflower Fund, which includes Wildflower Run proceeds, run sponsorships, and member donations. 

More information about Tech Trek and Scholarships can be found on the branch website.

If you missed the event, check out the Zoom recording; Passcode is dV$&.tK0

Stacy Moeder, scholarship coordinator

Deferred Entry Scholarship (L to R): Stacy Moeder, scholarship coordinator; Vicky Reader; re-entry/deferred entry scholarship chair; Juanita Salinas, Gavilan College student and mother of two, criminal justice

High School Scholarship recipients with members (L to R): Tammy Parker, HS scholarship co-chair; Stacy Moeder, scholarship coordinator; Emily Lopez, UC Irvine, psychology/art double major; Isabella Fredericks, UC San Diego, applied mathematics, Helen Bui, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, biology; Darla Andreson, scholarship committee; Margaret McCann, former chair

Tech Trek campers (L to R): Caitlyn Amaral, Salem Omana, Uliana Romanova, Jyzzalleh Sifuentes, Sierra Van Holt.

NCCWSL winner: Chinazom Ofobuki, Gavilan College

Carol O’Hare, Newsletter editor

Return to September/October 2023 Newsletter